Jun 12, 2024

Inter-Community Business Licence

Inter-Community Business Licence

24 municipalities from Campbell River to Sooke participate in the inter-community business licence program which makes obtaining a business licence easier and less costly for businesses which provide services in more than one central Vancouver Island community. This initiative, new in 2014 and expanded in 2019, will save a business from obtaining a separate business licence from each community in which the business wishes to do business or provide services.

In partnership with the Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Skills Training, many communities in British Columbia have worked together to create an inter-community business licence program for their region. Municipalities participating in the south and central regions of Vancouver Island include Campbell River, Central Saanich, Colwood, Comox, Courtenay, Cumberland, Duncan, Esquimalt, Highlands, Lake Cowichan, Ladysmith, Langford, Metchosin, Oak Bay, Nanaimo, North Cowichan, North Saanich, Parksville, Port Alberni, Qualicum Beach, Sidney, Sooke and View Royal.

What is an inter-community business?
An inter-community business is defined as a business that performs a service in more than one community by moving from client to client. This includes but is not limited to trades, plumbers, electricians, cleaning services, pest control or other similar businesses. An inter-community business does not include businesses selling goods or services from fixed or semi fixed locations where customers come to them. Examples of excluded businesses include fruit stands, roadside vehicle vendors, mobile stores, flea markets, concession stands, trade shows and cannabis trade.

An inter-community business licence is valid for the same term as the regular business licence issued by the community from which the inter-community business licence is purchased. A business holding an inter-community business licence must comply with all bylaws and regulations of each community in which they operate.

The inter-community licence is an additional licence to the existing principal business licence. The annual fee for the inter-community licence is $170 for all participating municipalities and is paid in full at the time of application and retained by the participating municipality issuing the licence. The fee for an inter-community business licence is separate and additional to any municipal business licence fee which may be required.

Businesses that are not mobile businesses or are not eligible for an inter-community business licence must obtain a separate business licence from each community in which they do business.

How do I renew my business licence if my business is not located in Parksville but I wish to do business in Parksville?
Please see the municipality where you have your principal business licence.

What do I do if my business is not located in Parksville or any of the other participating municipalities?
Non-resident businesses must choose a participating municipality and obtain a principal business licence from that municipality; this now becomes their principal or home municipality. The business may then apply at their principal municipality for an inter-community business licence.

Participating municipalities:

    City of Campbell River 250 286-5700
    Corporation of the District of Central Saanich 250 652-4444
    City of Colwood 250 475-5999
    Town of Comox 250 339-2202
    City of Courtenay 250 334-4441
    Village of Cumberland 250 336-2291
    City of Duncan 250 746-6126
    Corporation of the Township of Esquimalt 250 414-7100
    District of the Highlands 250 474-1773
    Town of Ladysmith 250 245-6400
    Town of Lake Cowichan 250 749-6681
    City of Langford 250 478-7882
    District of Metchosin 250 474-3167
    City of Nanaimo 250 754-4251
    Municipality of North Cowichan 250 746-3100
    Corporation of the District of North Saanich 250 656-0781
    District of Oak Bay 250 598-3311
    City of Parksville 250 248-6144
    City of Port Alberni 250 723-2146
    Town of Qualicum Beach 250 752-6921
    Town of Sidney 250 656-1184
    District of Sooke 250 642-1634
    Town of View Royal 250 479-6800
Copyright © City of Parksville
All Rights Reserved | Site by Bravenet Marketing Inc.
Legal Disclaimer/Privacy Statement